bino's bites

Master the basics, improve as you go along

I procrastinate. Whenever I get the chance to try something new, I plunge myself into it. But rather than just having a go, I often start tweaking details without knowing whether I’ll end up using it or not. Definitely not the agile approach to improve as you go.

Resource: Ustwo from Henrik Kniberg Start small and end up with a car, don't build a car from scratch.

In a way, it’s nice to tweak something to your personal liking, however, in doing so, it absorbs time that actually is better spent working.

I noticed I do this with many things. Tweaking all the details without actually getting started. Tweaking a new camera (with film simulations) before shooting pictures, designing a logo for a newsletter before having content, …

Bear has customization options. Besides changing the theme, I can change the appearance completely through CSS, which I learned in the past.

I’ve already been thinking of making some changes, however, I’m here because I want to share and write, and not to have a fancy empty blog.

So my objective is clear.

Write, write, write, …

I’ll make some improvements as I go along.

Coincidentally, this links up with what Lou Plummer wrote on his blog this weekend.

One upside to writing as much as I do is that I don't have time to fiddle with the design of my blogs very often. I'm so busy putting out copy that I seldom stop and think about colors or fonts or any of the other design features available to me.

The full post can be found here

So don’t get caught up on details or think of perfecting your blog, post, … Only “upgrade” when it provides a benefit or when you’re ready to take the next step.

Take action first.


Reply via email - image

#blogging